City of Mandurah Sports Awards

Local sport is vital for a healthy community and a strong country.

It encourages pride in our community, it instils service through volunteering, and it teaches our young people to strive for excellence and to be gracious in both victory and defeat.

So I was very pleased last week to attend the City of Mandurah Sports Awards, which recognise the outstanding achievements and service of sportspeople in my local community. I extend my congratulations to the following people:

  • Sportsperson of the year is Kathryn Norris, for golf;
  • Masters sportsperson of the year is Symonne Kennedy, for wakeboarding;
  • Junior sportsperson of the year is Corey Wasley, for cricket.
  • The award for team of the year is Peel Thunder Football Club, from the Western Australian Women's Football League.
  • The club of the year is the Mandurah Junior Cricket Club;
  • The junior team of the year is Mandurah City Football Club's NPL under-14s
  • The award for inclusion program or event of the year went to Fishability Mandurah
  • The award for female volunteer of the year is Joanne Fitzpatrick
  • The highly commended achievement award went to Zoe Beacham
  • The highly commended achievement award for team of the year went to the Mandurah Mustangs Football Club, the integrated football team
  • And the Ken Phillips male volunteer of the year award went to Jamie Hunter.

I want to pay special tribute to the efforts of Jamie Hunter.

The integrated football league is a competition designed exclusively for people living with an intellectual disability.

The Mandurah Mustangs joined the competition thanks largely to Jamie's personal effort.

The Morrison Government was proud to support their efforts with a volunteers grant earlier this year.

I had the pleasure of attending their first ever home game last year, and I congratulate Jamie on his efforts.